Dec 242018

INBRE partner, University of Hawaii at West Oahu, showcased its new $32-million Administration and Health Science building on December 12, 2018. Completed approximately two years after the groundbreaking in November 2016, the nearly 44,000-square-foot building is the first structure added to the campus since the move to its current Kapolei location in 2012. Classes in the new structure begin with the spring 2019 semester. Besides providing a home to administrative functions, the building also houses classrooms for health sciences and laboratories for the teaching of anatomy, cellular biology and microbiology. The building features 10 classrooms (one of which is a computer lab), three labs and two support labs along with offices for the faculty and instructional staff. Read more here.

The 5th Annual Leeward CC Undergraduate Research Symposium on August 14, 2018

 News & Announcements, Student Research Experience  Comments Off on The 5th Annual Leeward CC Undergraduate Research Symposium on August 14, 2018
Aug 162018
Apr 302018

The INBRE Program Meeting and Biomedical Sciences & Health Disparities Symposium on April 19, 2018, was a great success with students expanding upon their professional activities. We had many faculty comments about the impressive quality of research and the manner of professional presentation – INBRE students you did yourself proud!

The scores are in for the Top 4 INBRE Undergraduate Student Poster Presentations. These students are invited to attend and participate in the 7th Biennial National IDeA Symposium of Biomedical Research Excellence (NISBRE) in Washington, D.C., on June 24-26, 2018. Registration, airfare, and lodging expenses will be covered by INBRE program.

Top 4 scores:
• Boonyanudh Jiyarom (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
• Genardine Arizala (Hawaii Pacific University)
• Michael Faundo (Kapiolani Community College)
• Kevin Pham (University of Hawaii at Manoa)


View a copy of the program here: 2018 Biomedical Sciences and Health Disparities Program (April 18-19)

Apr 262017

INBRE SRE Student, Torbjoern Nielsen, at the Undergraduate Poster Session

Awards have been announced for the 2017 Biomedical Sciences and Health Disparities Symposium, which brought a record-number of health scientists to the University of Hawaii satellite campus at Kaka’ako on April 20-21, 2017. One hundred seventy-one posters were presented by scholars at different levels of study, from MD students to Fellows to undergraduate, graduate, and research associates. Congratulations to them, their advisors, and all the participants. Visit UH Med Now to view the list of Dean’s Award Recipients.

View a copy of the 2017 Biomedical Symposium Program here.

Congratulations to the Top 4 INBRE III poster presentations! They are:

  • Torbjoern N. Nielsen from University of Hawaii at Manoa. Advisor: Monika Ward. Abstract: Histological quantitative assessment of Y chromosome gene content effects on testicular germ cell proliferation and differentiation (Co-authors: Victor A. Ruthig, Jonathan M. Riel, Yasuhiro Yamauchi, Monika A. Ward). Dean’s Award Recipient for Undergraduates Division.
  • Alex R. McLaury from Kapiolani Community College. Advisor: John Berestecky. Abstract: Monoclonal antibody production against Zika virus envelope protein (Co-authors: Brien Haun, Teri Wong, Alan Garcia, Daniel Strange, Dr. John Berestecky, Dr. Axel T. Lehrer, Albert To, Liana Medina).
  • Kara L. Riggsbee from Kapiolani Community College. Advisor: John Berestecky. Abstract: An efficient technique to determine functional variable region cDNA sequences of monoclonal antibodies (Co-Author: Brien Haun).
  • Brendan S. Ito from Hawaii Pacific University. Advisor: Yongli Chen. Abstract: Ethosuximide and Normethsuximide potentiates α1β3γ2 GABAA Receptors (GABAARs) and alleviates pentylenetetrazol (PTZ)-mediated inhibition in a pharmacological model of absence seizures (Co-authors: Akimasa Iijima, Yongli Chen).
Nov 182016

Dr. Martin Chalfie, Nobel Laureate from Columbia University, New York,
visits the University of Hawaii, John A. Burns School of Medicine, to present:
“Guarantor Transcription Factors in Cell Differentiation” on November 17, 2016

Guest speaker, Dr. Martin Chalfie, at UH JABSOM MEB

Photo (left to right): Bo Fu, Yangie Li, Zhibin Liang,
Dr. Martin Chalfie, Dr. Robert Nichols, Dr. Takashi Matsui, and Forgu Esemu Livo

Apr 282016