skip to Main Content

2021 Biomedical Symposium INBRE Winners

Day 2 April 16, 2021
Congratulations to all the presenters who participated in this year’s Biomedical Symposium.  The INBRE Judges and Leadership decided on 4 top winners and 5 honorable mentions for their outstanding presentations.  Thirty-six INBRE students, (34 presentations), presented at this event.  The presentations were held in 5 breakout rooms, with over 200 people in attendance throughout the day.
Due to COVID-19, the symposium was held virtually for the first time.  This new platform created new but exciting challenges for our students as they made their way preparing presentation slides, timing their speeches, and creating posters that were displayed on the Biomedical Symposium website.
Congratulations to all presenters and a big mahalo to everyone who came to support them!

View Abstracts: 2021 Biomedical Symposium Website

First Place

Vincent Tran
“Impact Of Β-Amyloid Fragments On Neurotoxicity And The Anti-Apoptotic Pathway”

Second Place

Andrew Winnicki
“Machine Learning And Metabolomics: Diagnosis Of Malignant Breast Cancer”

Third Place

Brandi Mikami
“Embryological Instructional Correlations Using Xr Visualizations Of Dicephalic Parapagus Conjoined Twins Curated By Dr. Jacob Henle While At The University Of Heidelberg (1844- 1852)”

Fourth Place

Bryan Suechting
“Hand Sanitizer Production During A Pandemic Via The Fermentation And Distillation Of Ethanol”

Honorable Mention

  1. Hollis Tam: “Point-of-Sale E-Cigarette Marketing and E-Cigarette Use Among Asian/Pacific Islander and White Young Adults.”
  2. Erin Graeze Ortiguero: “Effects of Glucose Absorption Through Postprandial and Fasting Blood Glucose Levels.”
  3. Victor Kilonzo:  “Selenium Deficiency Impairs Cognition, Sensorimotor Gating, and Energy Homeostasis in Mice.”
  4. Isabelle Yazel Eiser:  “Determining Genomic Differences Among the Virulent Pathogen Vibrio vulnificus within the Ala Wai Canal.”
  5. Abigail Jones:  “Understanding the Influence of Fungal Interactions on Microbiome Community Stability.”


Back To Top